The European Union has seven outermost regions: the four French overseas departments (DOM): Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Réunion and Martinique; the autonomous Portuguese regions of the Azores and Madeira; and the Autonomous Community of the Canary Islands.
More than € 5.9 billion have been allocated to the outermost regions for the period 2007-2013 under the Structural Funds, plus a specific allocation of € 979 million to offset the additional costs linked to their handicaps as recognised by the Treaty.