Pramod Kumar Aggarwal from India and Carlos Clemente Cerri from Brazil were honoured at the opening ceremony of the TWAS 11th General Conference, in Durban, on 20 October. The two share this year's Trieste Science Prize – a USD100,000 award funded by the Ernesto Illy Foundation – for their pioneering work on the intricate relationship between agriculture, climate and the environment.