European Commission President Barroso and Danish author Henning Mankell presented twelve emerging authors with the new "European Union Prize for Literature" at the Flagler Theater in Brussels. The European Prize for Literature aims to spotlight the richness and diversity of contemporary European literature, to promote the circulation of literature within Europe and to encourage greater interest in literature from other countries.